Sign in to follow this  
JonnyMum

Where are you on the collecting spectrum?

This thread is supposed to be light-hearted and fun. Don't be that guy, ok?

DocVail's KS discussion got me thinking so let me start this out by describing where I am...

I starting collecting a couple of months ago. Total newb. Didn't know **** from Shinola, just liking the 'idea' of watches. Moved quickly into the "These are soooo cool, BUY ALL THE THINGS". Being the frugal (tightwad?) that I naturally am, I bought a bunch of junk watches just to have them. I didn't know what I liked and thought that was a good way to get a feel for different styles. Worked for me... I get a kick out of these things.

Now that I see my tastes refining, my list of wants and do-not-wants changing, I am starting to lust after a few 'quality' watches, though I doubt I will ever be a serious collector. Hell, half the real value of of my 'collection' is in two affordable watches.

20150721001907_u0aphudbv2y.gif

So, now you know. I like cheap watches.

Other types I see:

The "I am new, and very tentative, shop for me!"

The "I am new, but don't want to seem cheap, so I will start at a grand while making sure to talk about future Rolexes."

The "I have been doing this for a while, and won't even consider a watch that is not at least $$"

The "I am an old hand, know exactly what I want, and will save until I get it."

The "I have champagne tastes and a beer budget, and I don't give a damn."

The "I have beer tastes and a champagne budget, deal with it."

The "I have champagne tastes, know everything about everything and only hang out in affordables to mock the peasants."

I am sure there are a hundred more..

Where you are on the collecting spectrum? Do you fit a category above or do you carve your own path? Sum up your spot on the food chain!

And for heavens sake folks, have fun with it. No whining allowed!