Sign in to follow this  
Charlie

This "sub is too common" notion

Hi all just a point for discussion. I often read that some people agonize over picking up a sub as it is too "common". While I can appreciate there are many folks who want wear something that is "rare" or not" ubiquitous" I wonder if some are focused to much on these forums and not the world around them. I guess if you live in Hong Kong or work in finance in Manhattan you will see a lot of submariners or other popular models. My experience has been different. I work as a senior executive in a large corporation and travel North America extensively. I work with a lot of people who own some very nice watches and spend a lot of time in first class lounges in airports. Bottom line I see a lot of nice watches. I have been keeping track and in the last year I have only seen two subs and both were the date version. I have a114060 and have yet to see one in the wild.

This is not scientific of course and I am just sharing my experience, however I do think there is some truth that amongst WIS or Rolex supporters the sub is popular, or common or whatever, but in the wider world a sub or any Rolex strapped to your wrist is not really that common.

Thoughts?

I bought a sub because i love it, not because other people wear them or not.

If people do not buy a sub because it's too common and want something no one's wearing. They're more affected by what other people think of what they're wearing and that makes them a lot more common than submariners, imo.